Lotus Temple, Spanish Fork, UT

A quick break from grading final papers and exams: Today’s post features ISKCON’s Lotus Temple in Spanish Fork, Utah, a town I lived in for a year when I was 10-11 years old. The temple was built after my family moved away from Spanish Fork. I attended a couple events at the temple in the early 2000s, while I was living in Salt Lake City.

This is a fabulous photo of the temple with the Wasatch mountains in the background, taken from the temple’s online photo gallery.

I assume from the cloud of pink dust over the amphitheater and the light snow on the mountains that this photo was taken during Holi. Here’s a video the temple has produced about that festival. I am, frankly, astounded by the video’s production values, as well as by the size of the crowd. A good number of these people have probably come down from Salt Lake City, an hour away. On Sundays, I suspect, some of them could be found at the big drum circle in Liberty Park. And a good number of these folks are probably Mormons, including students from nearby Brigham Young University.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

