Hopi mural

I’m finalizing syllabi for the coming semester. Lately, I’ve been trying to make my syllabi more visually attractive. For the introductory course I’m teaching on the functions of myth in premodern and modern societies, I decided to use as decoration some details from a mural at the Museum of Northern Arizona that incorporates imagery from Hopi myths my students will be reading. These images were particularly attractive to me because of how they link elements of the myths to challenges of contemporary Hopi life. That’s something I’ll be asking students to think about during the course: how do people in modern societies continue to adapt and reinterpret older myths?

Here are the details I’m using. You can see the entire mural at the museum’s website. The muralists are Michael Kabotie and Delbridge Honanie. I regret that I don’t find a title for the mural on the museum’s website.

Pic-Kiva_Emergence

Pic-Kiva_Rational_Side

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

