500 Years of Religion and Empire

r950325503

I’ve completed the syllabus for one of the courses I’m teaching this semester. Although this is a first run, which will need revising in future semesters, I’m very pleased with how it turned out, which is code for “I’m feeling a bit vain.” (Which in turn is code for just plain “I’m feeling vain.”) If nothing else, I think the syllabus is pretty to look at–I certainly enjoy looking at it.

The most important thing is that this syllabus represents a new approach, for me, to teaching an “intro to American religions” course. My theme this semester is “religion and empire,” which I’m using to construct a new kind of grand narrative for U.S. religious history, a more geographically expansive narrative than is conventional. I’m not aware of a textbook on this subject, so I pulled together a collection of short historical documents as readings–that was a lotta effin’ work. Click the link to admire the results with me.

REL 101D Fall 2014 Course Policies and Schedule – Duffy

Tagged

Leave a Reply

